Dragonflight: Saturday


Saturday I was planning on attending two games – Sophie’s “FATE of the Mouse Guard” game and Sophie’s “FATE of Agaptus” game.

Saturday Morning:  FATE of the Mouse Guard

For the morning game I got into FATE of the Mouse Guard, run by Sophie.  We were all playing mice, based on the comic by David Peterson and the RPG written by Luke Crane (though she ported it to FATE Accelerated).

I played a big, bad Patrol Leader with a big axe and a necklace of weasel teeth, a veteran of the Weasel Wars who saw weasels behind all troubles (this character was shamelessly stolen from the character previously played by our friend Jayson).

We were out on patrol strengthening the scent barrier when we were attacked by an angry mole.  This struck everyone as weird because moles don’t usually attack mice.  After a fierce battle we chased the mole off, then followed it back to its lair, where we discovered that there was some other sort of alchemical scent marker present.  But while the scent we used for the scent barrier was meant to drive predators away, this one was meant to drive animals into a state of aggression.  We eventually discovered a tunnel and laid an ambush and encountered – WEASELS!

FullSizeRender(21)

It was a tough battle.  Weasels have weight (which in this game is a means of measuring relative size) and there were two of them, so we could have been really badly mauled if we had taken on both at once.  Luckily the ambush spaced them out and we were able to drop them one after the other.  I got in a nice, big, weasel-whacking shot that did 8 levels of damage to one of them.

FullSizeRender(22)

Triumph!

All in all it was a fun game, and I thought that the mechanics developed for FATE of Agaptus worked well for simulating differing sizes of opponent.  You really need to watch out for characters that outweigh you in the game, because they can really mess you up quickly and the rules for healing are more severe than in regular FATE.  Be forewarned!

Saturday Afternoon – down time

I had planned on playing in Sophie’s FATE of Agaptus game Saturday afternoon.  Sophie and I have this secret convention plan whereby we list one less space than we will actually accommodate, so we can get into one another’s games.  However, there were a ton of people at Sophie’s game (somewhere around 8-9) and so I ceded my spot to someone else and went upstairs to work on my Sunday Motobushido game.

After the Friday game of Motobushido I noticed that players unfamiliar with the game had a hard time initially remembering the effects of what each move did in relation to the other moves.  There is an online chart to help with that but it is somewhat dated and inaccurate.  So I made up a couple of sets of 5×7 cards with the various moves on the front and their interactions with other moves on the back, to pass out for players who were dueling.  I also made up some cards detailing pack resources (which were all going to be very low for my second scenario) as well as lists of how you spent resources and how you regained them.

My feeling about resources is that for one-shots they are really only useful in a few ways.  First, they give a good overview of what condition the pack is in.  Second, they can be the focus of the adventure.  But unless you have a Shingari in the party, keeping strict track of resources is something of a drain – either you as the GM have to do it or you have to delegate it to someone NOT the Shingari – and if a player picked up a character other than the Shingari, it’s because they weren’t excited about keeping track of pack resources so you really shouldn’t dump on them.

Something I WANTED to do but ran out of time for was make up pages showing the outcomes of the various types of duel to put in my GM screen.  I decided not to do that after a) taking longer than I thought to make up the index cards and b) not particularly wanting to pay the expense of using the hotel business center (turns out it was free, but I didn’t know that at the time, and I am used to hotels charging for use of the business center in terms of number of internal organs).

I heard that Sophie’s game was a lot of fun.  Darn it!

Saturday Evening – Monster Draft

Addicted Pixies and the High Bludgeoner!  "Monster Draft"!

Addicted Pixies and the High Bludgeoner! “Monster Draft”!

Saturday evening we were invited by our friend John and his friend Jay to play in a playtest of his game Monster DraftMonster Draft is, as you might guess, a game about monsters.  The premise is that you have all been working for the sinister Whisper Queen, controlled by a gem in your forehead, helping her conquer everything and kill everyone and generally be all master villainish.  But the Whisper Queen died.  And now you are free to seek your destiny in a fantasy land ravaged by war.

I got “android” as my character type and “chronicler” as my profession and from there decided that I was an android motorcycle.  I had huge speakers mounted on my back and skulls (and spikes [and smaller skulls on the spikes{and even smaller spikes on those skulls}]) and the Whisper Queen used to ride me around while I blared out her praises, her triumphs, the worthlessness of her foes, and power chords.

My adventure primarily concerned minotaurs.  For my first encounter I tried to rescue a band of minotaurs from a magical tsunami, but failed and was able to bring out one minotaur calf as a survivor.  “The Littlest Minotaur” became my companion as I searched for other minotaurs to take him in.  Unfortunately we ran into some warangutans and he fell into a chasm.  I jumped in to rescue him, only to discover that he had not fallen in at all and plunged into the chasm myself.  My story wound up with me being reunited with the little tyke and convincing the warangutans to form a community with us because I could serve as an awesome aphrodisiac by playing love songs on my huge speakers.

Afterwards we had a nice discussion with John and Jay about the game and ways that it could be changed/improved/modified and what we liked and what we didn’t.  It was a fun post postmortem for the session.

Then – time for bed.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Dragonflight: Saturday

  1. […] Edmund posted his notes on the […]

Leave a Reply

